Tasmanian Government LogoAndrew Inglis Clark Law Library

About the Integrated Law Library Service (ILLS)

Participating libraries

The Andrew Inglis Clark Law Library in Hobart is the central service point for the ILLS.

The ILLS is made up of the libraries of the Department of Justice, the Supreme Court of Tasmania, the Magistrates Court of Tasmania, and the Law Society of Tasmania, which were integrated by agreement of their participating organizations from January 2002.

The staffed libraries included in this agreement are:

  • 3 integrated libraries which are accessible to all client groups and the general public, in Hobart, Launceston, and Burnie; and
  • 2 working collections, the D.M. Chambers Library and the Judges' Library, as well as a number of branch collections for the use of specific client groups, which are not open to the public.
Participating organisations
  • Law Society of Tasmania
  • Department of Justice
  • Supreme Court of Tasmania
  • Tasmanian Magistrates Courts
Administration of ILLS

The ILLS is administered according to the partnership agreement between the Crown and the Law Society of Tasmania. Day-to-day management is provided by the Department of Justice through the Library Manager.

Budget and policies of the integrated libraries are determined by the Management Committee.

The Management Committee is made up of representatives of each of the partner organisations.